Day Four

As today is God’s rest day, I observed total separation from the internet so I could reflect and be holy. Complete detachment from everything. Except Netflix (obviously, it’s Sunday). And Snapchat.

… And everything on my phone.

So! I began the day by telling my friends via Snapchat that I was watching my new favourite show on Netflix (because how else would they know what I’m doing). I got the app up on my phone, took a photo and sent it to the people with whom I’d snapped most recently. The pic was literally just of my laptop screen, where I was watching Netflix, capturing the tv show’s opening credits with the caption: WATCH.THIS.NOW. I made the snap last for 10 seconds so that people who opened it would seriously consider watching the show since I’d made them stop what they were doing for a sixth of a minute just to express how badly they should get on board.

The show is the new Netflix revival of Scream and it’s literally the best thing since sliced bread. It’s the lovechild of all things horror, high-school, teen, drama, romance, sex, suspense and comedy. I’m so addicted I feel a wave of despair wash over me every time I realise I’m almost done and will have to wait however long for the next season to be released. I always watch Netflix on my laptop because it’s my preferred medium. Also because I’m usually always on my phone at some stage throughout watching telling others to watch too.

I’m proud to say, I’ve coerced quite a few friends to join the Scream bandwagon through several brainwashing methods. For example, I’ll film a really intense or exciting part of the show on Snapchat and send it to people who I think could be addicted (and who are frequent Snapchatters themselves). Obviously in accordance with the nature of the app, the videos are fleeting, so they only get a short preview; seeing just enough to make them want more.

I also like to constantly talk about it to anyone who’ll listen on Whatsapp or Facebook Messenger. By randomly interrupting a conversation you’re having with someone online to vent about how you simply cannot believe what happened in last night’s episode and how it was so thought-provoking, it beckons the question of what on earth are you watching that’s gotten you so riled up? And through the magical power of social media and Netflix themselves, I get to rope someone else into this utterly consuming and completely addictive past-time they’ll forever be thankful for.

Getting friends hooked on the same shows as you #101.

Leave a comment